WK13. ARTIST CONVERSATION- KRYSTAL RAMIREZ

IMG_5568

Artist: Krystal Ramirez

Exhibition: La Cena Esta Servida Dinner is Served

Media: Metals and jewelry

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Merlino

Website: kgrmetalcraft.com

Instagram: @kgrmetalcraft

ABOUT THE ARTIST

Krystal Ramirez is currently a senior in the BFA program at CSULB , mainly focusing on metals and jewelry. She is originally from Huntington Beach, which is not too far from Long Beach. Growing up, she has always had an interest in art. She always found herself drawing and painting. She also attended the Orange County School of Arts in Santa Ana, studying visual arts.  Only until after she took a class in metals, that when she began to have a love for it. Ever since then, she has been making jewelry on her own. After graduating, she has plans on attending grad school.

FORMAL ANALYSIS 

Walking into her gallery, you will immediately notice all the different pieces of metal around the room: copper, brass, sterling silver. She mentioned that it took her about 3 years to complete this exhibit, which definitely paid off because I really enjoyed it. The way she laid everything out resembled a dinner table.

CONTENT ANALYSIS 

Krystal loves jewelry, especially making it. Her gallery was inspired by nature and the simplicity of it. She also mentioned that each piece in her exhibit was a representation of someone important in her life. The main point to this exhibit was to show her audience how important sit down dinners are to her. I support this 100%. During these sit down meals was when she actually had quality time with her family.

SYNTHESIS/ MY EXPERIENCE

Immediately, I was drawn towards Krystal’s gallery. Mainly because of the idea behind it. Just like Krystal, I really value family dinner time and it means a lot to me. To find an artist who actually incorporated that into her art really meant a lot to me. It wasn’t until I moved away from home did I realize how important dinner was to my family and I. Every time I go home to visit, I always look forward to dinner time. It is the only time my family and I are all free and actually sit down and bond. I loved every little thing about this exhibit!

Leave a Reply

